Cranston Wins 2019 Flicko de Mayo, US International Open

Daniel Cranston from Maryland won the Flicko de Mayo FISTF International Open and ASA Major on May 18 in Lansing, Michigan.

Cranston receives the trophy from Grand Rapids TSC president Paul Pate

The current two-time defending national champion and Black Rose Roma player defeated Peter Alegi of Grand Rapids TSC 3-1 in a tightly contested final (watch it here).

Bryan Arnold (NoVA Union SC) and Ilias Gikas (Chicago United TSC) had impressive performances, placing second in their respective groups and reaching the semifinals.

Erik Haefke from Iowa won the WASPA consolation bracket with a solid 4-1 win over Eric Walton of Michigan.

In the team event, Chicago United TSC beat Grand Rapids TSC 2-1 to keep the Great Lakes Cup.

Congratulations to all participants. Thanks for making this year’s tournament a perfect mix of competition and camaraderie. See you in 2020… and an open invitation to players from around the world to join us!!