Clinton Gahwiler claims Cape Town Open

Fresh off his World Cup sojourn, Clinton Gahwiler claimed the 7th Cape Town Open, beating Neil Hampton 2-0 in the final.

The first Cape Town Open event was held in 2014. This year’s event was the 7th instalment, hosted as always by Cape Town City Subbuteo Club. The venue was the beautifully-situated Sports Science Institute of South Africa, in Newlands, Cape Town.

Unfortunately quite a few regular players were unavailable for this event, but the numbers were boosted by three visitors from Johannesburg, namely Gary Downs and Ian Clarke (Easterns TFC)
and Jason Kennedy (ETS SC).

The event kicked off with a fun 3-player team event – Cape Town City SC versus the combined Johannesburg players. This ended in a 1-2 victory for the visitors.
Results of the three matches
were as follows:
CT v Invitational 1-2
Neil v Gary 3-0
Clinton v Ian 1-2
John v Jason 0-2

For the main event, a league format was held, although it was decided in advance that the top two players would play a final to determine the ultimate winner. The same applied to finalising places 3
and 4, 5 and 6, 7 and 8.
The scores of these finals matches were as follows:
1st & 2nd: Clinton Gahwiler (Cape Town City SC) v Neil Hampton (Cape Town City SC) 2-0
3rd & 4th: Ian Clarke (Easterns TFC) v Gary Downs (Easterns TFC) 2-0
5th & 6th: John Fishlock (Cape Town City SC) v Brendon Hoctor (Cape Town City SC) 3-1
7th & 8th: Jason Kennedy (ETS SC) v Grant Lewis (Cape Town City SC) 2-0