Florian Giaux claims historic European Championship Open title; Five countries share titles (updated)

Florian Giaux of Belgium claimed the first European Open Championship title of the 21st Century when he beat Italy’s Luca Battista 3-2 at the European Championship 2019 in Frameries, Belgium, overnight.
The last European Championships was held in 1999 in the Netherlands, won by Massimo Bolognino.

In the Women’s event, France’s Audrey Herbaut overcame Victoria Büsing of Germany 2-1 in extra time.

In the Veteran’s category, Malta’s Mario Camilleri beat Konstantinos Kechris of Greece 1-0.

In the Under 12, the final was an all Italian affair, with Francesco Borgo beating Francesco Manfredelli 1-0 in their final.

The Under 19 title was claimed by Greece’s Dimitrios Dimopoulos, beating Maxime Rairoux of Belgium 2-1.

In the Under 15 competition, Italy’s Mattia Ferrante beat teammate Francesco Tozzi  2-1. (Corrects result)


FINALS (corrects result of U15)